Hmm.

Unlike my one sister whose nickname is Judgy McBitchity, I pride myself on my lack of judgitude.  (That should be a word.)  So if you tell me that you’re the neighborhood prostitute who rides around with a blow-up mattress in the back of your Honda Odyssey servicing the local construction workers and deliverymen, I say knock yourself out. Actually, I’m judging the crap out of you behind your back.  I mean, really?  You’re a prostitute. You’re asking to be judged.

I also judge you if you wear bright purple eye shadow.  And I judge you if you like the Pioneer Woman.  And I judge you if you are a Kardashian, watch the Kardashians or like the Kardashians.

Okay, so maybe I’m a little Judgy McBitchity.  Shut up.

The point of all that is this:  Some thoughts popped into my mind while reading one of The Beast’s books to him, and none of them are meant to be judgmental.  So if you read my thoughts and feel like you or your loved ones are being judged, then refer back to the first two paragraphs that list the people I judge.  If you’re one of those, then, yes, I’m judging you.  If you’re not, then we’re good.


This appears to be a girl’s bedroom, yet the bold text suggest that it’s a boy’s bedroom.  Some questions occur to me:

Do you think that this is an effort by the editors to break down gender stereotypes?

Do you think that this book that is written for 3-year-olds is trying to suggest to toddlers that it’s okay to be a boy and want a pink bedroom, wear dresses and have pictures of butterflies on the wall?  And I’m not saying that’s not okay.  I’m just asking if that’s what the book is suggesting.

Do you think this page is specifically intended to cause us to question how we’d feel if our son wanted a pink room? (Just as a note, The Beast will always pick a pink bowl and spoon when given a choice.)

Or is it that the editors are just morons who didn’t catch an error?

Lastly, why is there so much trash in the wastebasket?  Is that a picture of a prairie dog in the frame on the shelf?  And why does the book say that all the clothes are neatly hung in the closet when there is clearly a dress hanging on the doorknob?

[Waves hands in gesture invocative (Is that a word?  Am I using it correctly?  Seems like it should be a word but my spell checker doesn’t like it.) of “Coffee Talk with Linda Richman.”]

Discuss.

P.S.  If you do not know who Linda Richman is, you are too young and we can no longer be friends.

14 thoughts on “Hmm.

  1. This is going to bug me for the rest of the day.

    And, why does his mom bother telling him to make his bed? It looks pretty neat to me. Well… except that that blanket absolutely doesn’t go with the rest of the room. It would make much more sense to ask him to take out the garbage.

  2. My vote is for “morons who didn’t catch an error.” But that’s a lot of errors…
    Also, who still has a radio like that (NOT JUDGING – we don’t even have a radio, so maybe that’s totally hip)? Why doesn’t the flower vase get a label, if they’re going to teach us super-specific things like the difference between the picture and the frame, as well as where the carpet is located?

  3. I’m going with moronic editors. Unless the title of the book is “David wants to be a Princess”. Which exists out there, and I’m not judging either. If I want my daughters to buck gender stereotypic trends (and I do, how I do!), then I gotta leave that door open for my son, too.

  4. The dictionary-accepted spelling is ‘evocative’ and you’re using it in exactly the right way. (Lest anyone think I’m casting stones, I readily admit to being a free range punctuator and inventor of wordage.)

    • I knew there was a word in there somewhere. Well, that explains why my spell checker was throwing such a hissy-fit. (She also doesn’t like “hissy-fit.” Maybe hissyfit? Hissy fit? Nope, she doesn’t like those either. She’s rather snooty.)

  5. I guess I’m more suspicious. A dress hanging on a “closet” in a boy’s bedroom? If that was just an oversight, the publisher needs to hire some new editors. Just tell the Beast that the mother hung the dress there to dry before hanging it in the girl’s bedroom.

    • Based on the comment of someone else I decided to check where the book was made. It was made in China. I think that explains it all.

  6. Talk amongst yourselves, I will give you a topic – the mother never says it is his room, maybe she makes him make all of the beds in the house including his sisters’s room.

Leave a Reply

